Maligcong Rice Terraces

Maligcong Rice Terraces
Maligcong Rice Terraces

I’m lost for words. Surreal, maybe? Ethereal?

Wherever I look, I’m surrounded by stairways of green, crisscrossed by paths chiseled into the slopes of verdant hills that roll away beyond the horizon. I was walking along the concrete paths sculpted-like arteries on this forgotten world. I am like a small bug combing through the green fur of a gargantuan creature. No, I am not dreaming nor hallucinating. It’s just the breathtaking effect of the natural beauty around me – the Maligcong Rice Terraces. I am in a middle of a two thousand-year old rolling panorama carved out in a shape of a huge rice-growing staircases that continue to extend as far as my eyes can see.

maligcong02 maligcong08

A few hours ago, as we cruise in the van, passing from Banaue to Bontoc, a group of local travelers asked where I’m headed. I’m not surprised to see their forehead wrinkle when I answered Maligcong. They thought I’m also heading to Sagada. I said no, as I’ve been to Sagada in the past. I wanted to explore Maligcong this time around.

maligcong09 maligcong12

Travelers coming this way have their minds and itineraries set to the more popular destination that is Sagada. But this year, I found myself back on Cordillera’s terrifying yet very scenic highway headed towards a not so familiar destination.

maligcong13 maligcong14 maligcong15

Maligcong, where the Maligcong Rice Terraces is located, is a village in the municipality of Bontoc, Mountain Province. It is about 30 minutes by jeepney ride from the town center of Bontoc. According to the locals, Maligcong came from the word “ligcong” which means to level land for a rice field. After years and years of labor, the people had to carve the mountains surrounding the area into terraces for their rice and other crops. When the time came that the whole village was surrounded by rice fields, the people then named the village Maligcong, meaning surrounded by rice fields.

the Village of Maligcong
the Village of Maligcong

The Maligcong Rice Terraces is known for its stone walls which make the terraces more stable and not prone to erosion. The main village is right at the center of the sprawling rice fields. The best time to visit the Maligcong Rice Terraces is during the months of April to June when the fields are green. Their harvest time is around August.

maligcong17 maligcong20

There are no hotels to accommodate tourists and travelers. However, there are a couple of Homestays available. One of which is the Suzette’s Maligcong Homestay and Coffee Shop. I highly recommend this Homestay. They have clean rooms and decent bathroom. The owner, Suzette, is very gracious and accommodating. They serve free brewed coffee and mountain tea (Itsa Pagpag)! They can also cook meals for you during your stay.

maligcong16 maligcong19

How to get to Maligcong Rice Terraces from Manila:

Manila to Banaue – overnight bus (~10 hours) – Php450 (~US$10)

Banaue to Bontoc – jeepney or van (~1.5hours) – Php150 (~US$3.50)

Bontoc to Maligcong – jeepney (~30 minutes) – Php20 (~US$0.45)

Accommodation – Php 300/night (~US$6.70)

4 thoughts on “Maligcong Rice Terraces

  1. Thanks for sharing this exciting adventure..very inspiring, educational and makes one wish to be able to experience such journey. Awsome!
    Kay ganda talaga ng Pilipinas!

    Like

  2. Thanks for this. I just came from Maligcong and we stayed at Suzette’s too. I am so glad that I researched well and found Maligcong because it is cooler than Bontoc proper. The view and atmosphere is also serene.

    Is that Kunig the dog with you in the picture?

    Like

    1. Wow! Are the rice terraces all green at this time? I miss Maligcong, one of my favorite chill places here in the country. How’s Suzette? She’s a very gracious host, too!
      Yes, that is Kunig right there! Very famous dog, eh?
      Thanks for reading, by the way. Safe travels!

      Like

Leave a comment